SiMA – Somatic inquiry through Movement and Art

Well, I have no idea what I’m doing and that’s typical these days. Flying by the seat of my pants, asking questions, trying new things regardless, appearing the fool and not caring, just living as fully as possible. I’ve set aflame all previous options.

I decided to blog about my experience with my body, chronic pain messages and how I found healing through the foundations of movement and artistic expression. This journey began… well, at birth. But the real uncovering and narrative research began 4 1/2 years ago when I arrived in Colorado to study at Naropa University. They offered a BA degree in Interdisciplinary studies and so I closed my CA private practice, packed up my goodies and moved to Boulder, CO. Throughout this blog, I’ll touch on various moments of my educational journey, aspects of the research I reviewed, my own personal narrative inquiries, some of my artistic creations, some of the research I uncovered, how all this potentially connects to social issues such as our prison populations, addiction, homelessness and poverty. Research categories include fetal development, child / motor development, personality theory, Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs), Developmental Trauma Disorder (DTD) / Chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (CPTSD) (aka, relational trauma, childhood trauma), Movement and dance therapy, as well as art as therapy. Whew! It’s a lot, yes. Which is why my 30 page thesis (hypothesis) became a 90 page bedfellow. Thank you for taking an interest in my work, for reading this and and for participating!

Leave a Reply

